22. Chocolate Beetroot Brownies

This week I was with my family for the bank holiday weekend and before I headed home we popped into my parent’s friends’ house who kindly bestowed me with some beetroot. I’ve seen several of these chocolate cake with beetroot recipes knocking around the Internet and on TV (the first time I think on ‘Cook Yourself Thin’ a few years ago when I thought it was rather strange) and then Delia jumped on the bandwagon and it was en vouge all of a sudden. Never got around to trying it myself, beetroot not being something I often have lying around, but this seemed like the perfect opportunity.

I started by preparing the beetroot which according to the recipe need to be cooked, peeled and grated. I’ve never actually coked beetroot myself, as far as I was concerned it’s something that comes in little cubes in a jar floating in some sort of liquid. I therefore took cooking tips from my parents and it seemed to work rather well.

Cooked and drained beetroot

Cooked and drained beetroot

Cooked and peeled beetroot

Cooked and peeled beetroot

Grated beetroot

Grated beetroot

I then started on the brownie mix. I was thinking that these may be healthier brownies what with containing a root vegetable. Alas, I was sadly mistaken. The first step was to melt A LOT of butter with A LOT of 70% cocoa chocolate.

Healthy... or maybe not.

Healthy… or maybe not.

Melty chocolate mix

Melty chocolate mix

I then whisked together the eggs and caster sugar and added in the chocolate mix.

Adding the chclate mix to the eggs and sugar

Adding the chocolate mix to the eggs and sugar

I then folded in the flour and a pinch of salt and finally folded in the grated beetroot. That purple juice gets everywhere – I don’t think that chopping board will ever recover.

Folding in the flour

Folding in the flour

Adding the beetroot

Adding the beetroot

I then poured into a prepared tin and popped in the oven.

Before the oven

Before the oven

The recipe said to cook for 20-25 minutes and warned of the perils of overcooking but the middle of mine was just not setting. In the end it was in for more like 40 minutes, but that may have had something to do with a big beef stew cooking at the same time!

After the oven

After the oven

The beetroot definitely added to the rich colour and it smelt amazing!

photo (10)

As always, lovely with a cuppa! I blasted one in the microwave for 15 seconds and served with chocolate frozen yoghurt as my bank holiday Monday treat. Yum! Went down very well at work today as well.

Brownies!

Brownies!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

