18. Rainbow Whoopie Pies

This week I decided to do something a bit different, rainbow whoopie pies! There’s no particular reason they’re rainbow, they are all the same flavour, it’s just to make them look pretty I guess. I had a stab at the traditional chocolate with marshmallow filling a while back but I wanted to make another attempt for the blog. For those of you who don’t know what a whoopie pie is, they are an American invention and you can read up on them here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whoopie_pie

I started by making a large quantity of ‘batter’ that’s kind of like a sponge cake mix but has buttermilk in it and is a bit runnier.

Batter

Batter

I split the mixture into six equal batches and coloured each a different colour of the rainbow!

First set of colours

First set of colours

Second set of colours

Second set of colours

I used a speciality whoopee pie tin to bake my pies (from Amazon) that are easily available. You can pipe them into circles and bake them that way but I had neither the time nor the patience to do that! As I only had one tin I had to bake in two batches, each pie has two halves so I did four of each colour, enough for two pies.

photo (3)

photo (5)

They only take 10-12 minutes to bake. They came out of the oven all lovely and risen and rounded and then promptly sunk! I then left them to cool.

photo (9)

I then made a batch of standard vanilla buttercream for the filling. This was then piped on the flat side of a half then sandwiched together with another half. All done!

Sandwiched together

Sandwiched together

photo (8)

They are described by the Americans as a cross between a cookie (biscuit) and a cake, but I’d say they are definitely more on the side of cake. They are soft and very moist. The best way I think to describe them, but not in a negative way, is claggy. Kind of sticky and stick to the roof of your mouth and a bit dense, but nice all the same! They’re not too sweet (the filling, in this case buttercream, adds most of the sweetness) and I don’t think I could manage more than one at a time! As always, lovely with a cuppa. 😉

photo (7)

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

