13. Brown(ie) Owls

This week I was in a bit of a childish mood and didn’t fancy doing anything technical so I decided to make brownies! Nom noms! These technically still qualify for this blog as I had never made chocolate brownies this way before (but I must try harder next week!).

I started with a basic chocolate brownie mix (nothing unusual) and in case there wasn’t enough chocolate in it I added some chocolate chips.

IMG_1867

I then put in in my brownie pan and baked until it came out like so:

Cooked brownie

Cooked brownie

As these were going to be brown(ie) owls I need some feathers (chcolate button halves), eyes (giant white chocolate buttons, milk chocolate buttons and milk chocolate chips) and beaks (fudge bar triangles) which looked like this (spending my Saturday cutting chocolate buttons in half – crazy):

Preparing my decorations

Preparing my decorations

I then made the icing with a method I had not come across before: I put a mixture of dark and milk chcocolate in a bowl and then boiled up double cream and golden syrup. I then poured this over the chocolate and mixed until it melted together, no additional heat required. I was a bit dubious to start with as it looked like the picture below but I got there!

IMG_1871

Once the brownie had completely cooled in the tin, I cut out 12 rounds with a cutter and trimmed off the tops to make them level.

Cutting out brownie rounds

Cutting out brownie rounds

Then it was time to decorate!

IMG_1873

I covered the top and sides in icing…

Covered in icing

Covered in icing

…and then added the prepared eyes, beaks and feathers until they looked like this:

Iced and decorated

Iced and decorated

So cute! I think even Mr Hollywood wouldn’t be able to resist their little faces!

Twit twoo!

Twit twoo!

They were very sickly but very nice! Probably at bit too big but I couldn’t have made them any smaller otherwise they eyes wouldn’t have fit on. Obviously.

The icing was good, I’d like to experiement with that method more as my icing was still a bit lumpy (I think maybe the chocolate was a tad too cold when I started). These went down a treat with friends and colleagues – definitely a crowd pleaser if nothing else!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “13. Brown(ie) Owls

  1. Liz May 12, 2013 at 11:49 am Reply

    I just made some brownies and was wondering how to decorate them. In the end I just cut them into squares. These brownie owls are a perfect creation. They look real and exciting. Thanks for sharing. I have bookmarked this. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • Victoria May 12, 2013 at 9:16 pm Reply

      Thanks, I glad you like them! Let me know if you try them and how they turn out 🙂

Leave a Reply

