12. Ham and Mushroom Muffins

Hi readers, sorry for the absence of a post last week – I did bake a Birthday cake for my niece (but a tried and tested recipe so it didn’t count for this blog) and I also went to Disneyland and started a new job so I didn’t have time – it’s all happening!

This week I opted for a savoury recipe from the Hummingbird Bakery (http://hummingbirdbakery.com/) – ham and mushroom muffins.

I started by cooking some chopped button mushrooms in butter.

Mushrooms

Mushrooms

In a separate bowl I added flour, baking powder and cheese and gradually mixed in a combination of whole milk and eggs. The recipe said to use an electric whisk but the mixture was far too think, I thought the whisk was going to short circuit so I put a bit of old fashioned elbow grease in instead!

IMG_1853

I then added in chopped ham, chopped onions and the mushrooms.

IMG_1852 IMG_1854

After giving it a good mix it still seemed really stiff to me so I added a bit more milk to loosen it up a bit. I then put it into cases ready to be baked (the recipe said 12 but I made 16 – winner!).

Pre oven

Pre oven

I then baked them for half an hour (smelt amazing in the oven) until they came out like this…

Post oven

Post oven

IMG_1857

They’re really good, quite cheesy (no complaints from me!) and much lighter and airier than I expected. I had one fresh out the oven and then a cooled one and they were equally as nice each time. Really quick and easy to do – would recommend!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

