8. Pecan Pie

This week I decided to make pecan pie. I’m quite intrigued by american ‘pies’ as they always look like they’d be too much – too dense and sweet and filling – however they are obviously very popular so I thought I’d give one a go!

I started by making the shortcrust pastry, wrapping it in clingfilm and chilling it.

Pastry

Pastry

Once chilled, I rolled it out and after about 10 attempts, got it in the tin. Shortcrust is always a bit hit and miss for me – either too wet or too dry or not cold enough etc etc. It was a bit of a dodgy base but I filled over the cracks!

Unbaked Case

Unbaked Case

Whilst the pastry was baking blind, I started on the filling. It was basically a mix of things that are bad for you (like butter and golden syrup) melted down and boiled rapidly for a minute.

Start of the filling

Start of the filling

Boiling filling

Boiling filling

I then chopped and stirred in a LOT of pecans.

Pecans!

Pecans!

Filling with pecans

Filling with pecans

After the case was out the oven and cooled, I poured in the mixture and put in the oven to bake.

Filled, unbaked case

Filled, unbaked case

Before putting in the oven I was meant to decorate with the reserved pecans I had put aside but I didn’t read the recipe properly and it was too late by the time I realised! Grrrrr! I would also like to say at this point it smelt amazing!

Filled, baked case

Filled, baked case

So I decorated it after instead and stuck on the pecans with maple syrup and dusted with icing sugar.

IMG_1668

Finished pie

Finished pie

Close up

Close up

I took the pie home for the weekend so my family could be testers – it didn’t last long!

Close up filling

Close up filling

 

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

