5. Teacakes

Brief post this week – it was all straightforward. This week I thought I do some thing a bit more ‘bread-y’ and after a request for teacakes I thought I’d give them a go (and having done the chocolate variety already). This recipe was another Paul Hollywood from his Learn to Bake book.  First I mixed all the ingredients together (except the fruit).

Raw Ingredients

Raw Ingredients

Once it was together in a rough dough I tipped it out onto the work surface – it looked a bit ropey at this point!

Rough Dough

Rough Dough

After 10 minutes of kneading I put the dough back into the bowl, covered and left to double in size.

Kneaded Dough

Kneaded Dough

After a couple of hours I added the dried fruit – sultanas and mixed peel…

Added Fruit

Added Fruit

…and mixed them into the dough.

Mixed Dough

Mixed Dough

I then split the dough into 8, rolled them into balls, rolled them flat and brushed them with an egg glaze.

Rolled and Shaped

Rolled and Shaped

I then left them again for another hour or so to rise and then popped them in the oven for 15. Easy peasy.

Finished Teacakes

Finished Teacakes

They turned out harder that you would get in the shops – they are more bread like and these are more scone like. But toasted with butter and a cuppa they were pretty damn good! Tasted just like the shop bought ones but more satisfying because I made them myself! In fact, I think I might go and have one now… excuse me.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

