4. Cake Pops!

I’ve wanted to try cake pops for aaaaaaaaages but never got around to it until this week! I had some left over cake cut offs in my freezer from a novelty cake I carved a few weeks back so decided to use them up. I searched and searched the web for recipes but all involved making a cake and crumbing it, none to use up existing crumbs (I probably should have written down what I did here…) so I decided to wing it! I whipped up some vanilla buttercream and made the cake crumbs as fine as possible and gradually mixed a bit of each together to make a consistency I thought would roll into a ball.

Getting the mix together

Getting the mix together

I made almost the exact right amount of buttercream which was lucky and got the mix to a suitable rolling consistency – not to dry and not too sticky.

Mixed crumbs and buttercream

Mixed crumbs and buttercream

I then rolled the mix into balls with my hands, pressing them together so they stayed in shape. It made exactly 20. Bit disconcerting they kinda looked like meatballs (no horse I promise).

The rolled cake pop balls

The rolled cake pop balls

I then put them in the fridge for a bit while I melted a few candy melts. I had a bag left from my visit to Cake International at the NEC at the end of last year. I had read in one of the recipes that if you just stuck the lolly sticks straight in then the pops would slide off but if you dipped them in candy melts first then they wouldn’t. So I did exactly that and put them back in the fridge for about an hour (or however long it takes to watch an episode of Glee!).

With the sticks inserted with a bit of candy melts melted

With the sticks inserted with a bit of candy melts melted

I then put the rest of the candy melts over some simmering to water to melt. Whilst I was waiting I decided to use a bit of spare sugarpaste to make some ‘tags’ with my initials on to stick on the pops. This might be my new thing to stick on all my cakes – like a graffiti tag but instead a cake tag!

Now this is where it began to go less smoothly. The candy melts had melted but were nowhere near the runny smooth consistency I expected them to be (like melted chocolate). They were far too thick and lumpy and I knew from experience that they would not coat the pops well at all. So after a quick Google I saw that other people had recommended a few different solutions to a similar problem and in the end I decided to add some vegetable shortening to loosen the mix up a bit (Cookeen in my case as it was in the fridge). This worked a treat and added an extra shine too!

Melted candy melts

Melted candy melts

I then dipped all the cake pops in the candy melts to coat them which was rather therapeutic. I decorated with a selection of sprinkles I had in the cake cupboard (if anyone else is taking tips from this, I recommend sprinkling sprinkles, not dipping, as that just gets messy – see ramekin in left of pic) and added my ‘tag’.

Just decorated

Just decorated

I then left them in the fridge overnight to set and see below for the finished pops – quite pleased for my first attempt!

The finished article

The finished article

Close up with my 'tag'

Close up with my ‘tag’

I tried presenting a couple in a bag which looked rather nice I think.

IMG_1552

Taste test: success! Everyone who tried them loved them and I thought the same (even if I say so myself!). I thought that they would be quite heavy and stodgy but they were actually really light and lovely with a cuppa! I’m looking forward to trying them again and getting a bit more creative with the decorations!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

