3. Chocolate, Orange and Almond Biscotti

Firstly, and most importantly, I got a reply to one of my tweets this week from the one and Paul Hollywood himself, woo hoo! Dreams are coming true already lol!

My tweet!

My tweet!

Having received the new book from the lovely Mr Hollywood as a gift this week I decided to try one of his recipes and so after a quick flick through I decided to try the chocolate, orange and almond biscotti. I’ve never made biscotti before but it looked relatively straightforward.

My new book

My new book

Firstly you basically chuck all the ingredients together in a bowl and mix together. The recipe stated the dough should not be sticky at all but mine was a bit so I added a bot more flour. I didn’t realise there’s no fat at all in biscotti which makes me feel less guilty about eating it!

The dough

The dough

One the dough was out onto a floured surface it had a quick knead and then I divided it into 2 (even used scales to make them exact!) and I rolled the 2 pieces into 2 logs.

Pre oven biscotti logs

Pre oven biscotti logs

The logs went in the oven for about half an hour where they spread a bit and the tops cracked – starting to look a bit more like biscotti at this point.

Post oven biscotti logs

Post oven biscotti logs

Once out the oven, I left the logs to cool for 10 minutes and then sliced them digonally and laid them on their sides. At this point I also ate the cut off ends – just for testing purposes obviously. I quite liked the crisp outside and chewy middle but that’s not really biscotti (as well as eating partially raw eggs…). After the slicing they went back in the over for another half hour to dry out completely.

Sliced biscotti logs

Sliced biscotti logs

After the second stint in the oven they were left to cool and voila! Done! Easy peasy.

Cooling after the second time in the oven

Cooling after the second time in the oven

Mmmm... close up!

Mmmm… close up!

I boxed up a load for my Mum and Dad as I was seeing them the next day and took some round a friends the day after that. Taste test: passed with flying colours. Everyone seemd to enjoy them, the most successful bake yet I think. Particularly good with a lengthy dunk in tea (although Mr Hollywood recommends a dessert wine) although not too lengthy as my friend discovered as she lost half of hers into her mug. D’oh!

Boxed up and ready to go

Boxed up and ready to go

Until next time…

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

