1. Chocolate Teacakes

So I probably should have started easy but for whatever reason I didn’t. I went with Mary Berry’s chocolate teacakes. Oh well…

The other week I bought a silicon mould from Sew White (check it out at http://www.sewwhite.com – cool site) and have wanted to try these for ages anyway so I thought why not!

The mould (www.sewwhite.com)

The mould (www.sewwhite.com)

It all started well – melted the chocolate and made the biscuits. Making the chocolate domes took quite a while trying to make an even shell and constantly moving the mould round so the chocolate didn’t pool in the middle and at this point they looked very shiny!

Chocolate domes (still shiny) and the uncoated biscuits

Chocolate domes (still shiny) and the uncoated biscuits

The part I was most worried about was making the marshmallow but that was surprisingly easy and I coated the biscuits and left everything to cool and set.

All the parts ready to assemble

All the parts ready to assemble

After filling the domes with marshmallow and having quite a bit of chocolate left I realised that the domes were smaller than the recipe catered for so I decided to trim down the coated biscuits so they’d fit more snugly (hopefully!).

The trimmed down biscuits

The trimmed down biscuits

I then put the biscuits on, piped round the edge (made a bit of a mess) and left to set overnight.

All assembled, setting in the mould

All assembled, setting in the mould

In the morning I turned them out the mould and trimmed off the chocolate. The biscuit part at the bottom was a bit messy but the domes were smooth. I was disappointed to see 4 were a bit off colour (guessing a change in temp in the chocolate) but 2 were shiny, woo!

The finished article

The finished article

The 2 shiny ones!

The 2 shiny ones!

Taste test: they went down well – quite rich (considering they were meant to be bigger they were big enough!) and the marshmallow was very vanilla-ry but good. I want to try them again accommodating for the smaller mould and therefore tidier and maybe with milk chocolate as I prefer that to dark.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “1. Chocolate Teacakes

  1. asmallinsight February 6, 2013 at 11:26 pm Reply

    Congratulations on your first blog post, with skills like yours I hope there are many more to come?! xx The teacakes look amazing. I think I may have to invest in a mould xx

Leave a Reply

