15. Multiseed Crackers

Hi readers, sorry I missed a week – too much going on!

This week I was feeling a bit over-sugared and unhealthy so I decided to cook something healthyish – shock horror! I went with multiseed crackers from the GBBO book that I’ve been meaning to try for a while but put it off a bit because I thought they might be a bit difficult. They were actually a lot easier that expected.

I started by adding wholemeal flour, semolina and a mix of seeds (some whole and some crushed). The recipe called for flax seeds, sesame seeds and pumpkin seeds but I couldn’t get hold of any pumpkin seeds so went for sunflower seeds instead. Seeds a pretty much all the same to me anyway!

Dry ingredients

Dry ingredients

I then added a mix of water, oil and honey to the dry ingredients. I then mixed this together with my hands to make a dough and kneaded in the bowl for five minutes until the sides of the bowl were clean. I then left to rest for 20 minutes.

Oil, water and honey

Oil, water and honey

IMG_1950

Dough

Dough

IMG_1952

I then split the dough into three batches and rolled them out on an oiled surface. The recipe said to roll it as this as a credit card – I’m not sure I quite managed that but I went as this as I could. Then came the complicated bit of cutting them into crackers! After some impressive (if I say so myself) manoeuvring of a ruler, a pizza cutter and a palette knife I managed to shop all the dough into crackers and place onto lined baking trays.

IMG_1953 IMG_1954

I then sprayed the crackers with water, sprinkled with spare seeds and put in a medium oven for 20 minutes et voila!

IMG_1955

IMG_1956

I think they came out really well, a few at the back of the oven may have been a little too dark. They have much more depth of flavour than crackers you buy and were very crunchy. I thought that would be the hard part getting the ‘snap’.

I bagged a few up to fob off on friends and sampled them later with butter and cheese which worked very well. I also felt less guilty about scoffing five in a row. Seeds are good for you right?!

IMG_1961

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

